The thin line between teasing and bullying

Hey Guys!

I am sure all of you have experienced teasing. You know small little jokes on someoneelses dispense, normally a close friend. I’m sure that there are people in your social circles who like to “wreck” other people with insults. This is all fun and games, until it’s not. I think this is a big problem with bullying, because a lot of times the thin line between teasing and bullying is crossed. Yet the bully, who is a friend, family member or classmate, doesn’t notice.

As always I have a story to this. A couple of years ago me and a boy in my class developed a “wrecking” relationship. Really it was him being mean to me and pranking me. I didn’t mind, because I didn’t care about his opinion anyway and the pranks were harmless. This year a few other boys joined in and as much as it still didn’t bother me, it started to get annoying.

Last week, however, it got out of hand. I stated to my class that it was my birthday in less than a month, in my weird,quirky, childish ways and one of the boys turned around and said the words “Go kill yourself”. He meant it completely as a joke, as he always does ( I’ve known him for many years and I know he would never want that). I ignored it, being completely used to it, and carried on with my day. Later on however, one of my best Friends asked me why I tolerate bullying.

This was the first time I looked at it that way and I realised this really does count as bullying. The boys had crossed the fine line between bullying and teasing. So after school I asked him if he was aware of that and he was not. For him this was all a joke. Nothing more than a tease to get a girl’s attention.

Please always watch out for the fine line between bullying and teasing, especially if you are teasing somebody else. You never know what they are going to find offensive!

Leave your opinion in the comments below!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

